Pirouette Troubles

It is common for many dancers to have trouble with their turns, or to favor one side more than the other. For example, I personally favor my left side more than my right. In this case, I would constantly turn and practice my left side and not even attempt my right side. Soon, I learned that you have to practice both sides evenly. My advice is to practice your bad side more than your good side. If you are practicing your bad side more than your good side, then you will be kind of balanced on both sides. I am not asking you to totally ignore your good side, because it is good to practice your good side every now and then too, but it is important to be strong on both sides. So, if you start to practice your bad side a lot more, then you will start to see progress and be able to turn just as good on that side as you can on the other side. Here are some helpful exercises that you can start to do to help your turning troubleshooting. If you have any questions, just feel free to let me know.

It is important to first address the problem and figure out why you are falling out of your turns:

http://practice-wcs.com/wp/troubleshooting-pirouettes/

Then, here are some tips to help you with the problem:

http://www.dancespirit.com/2013/04/pirouette-troubleshooting/

http://www.rockettes.com/dance/20-pirouette-tips-for-dancers.html

2 thoughts on “Pirouette Troubles

  1. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!|

Leave a Reply

