Slow Down!

sidesplit

Just the other day, I took a ballet class that was three levels below me. I wanted to just take a slow class to focus on technique, posture, and the movement of my arms and legs. Believe it or not, I actually felt that this class was quite difficult! Going back a few levels every once and awhile really helps improve your dancing because you are able to focus on your movements rather than the speed. Because of this, you are able to engage your muscles and really focus on turn-out and other major corrections that you have been given. Don’t ever think that you are “too advanced” for a level, because every level (if done correctly) is just as hard as the other. Don’t be afraid to go back and review some of the basics, you will be glad that you did. 🙂

One thought on “Slow Down!

  1. Sometimes you need to slow down to go fast! I’m sure it felt great getting to focus on technique that sometimes you take for granted.

Comments are closed.