It’s Your Life, Live It!

seaboats

A few days ago, I was placed in an advanced contemporary class. I, however, didn’t have much experience in contemporary and have only taken an intermediate class maybe once or twice in my life. I specialize in ballet, as you all know, so I was quite embarrassed when I was asked to go across the floor by myself doing contemporary moves that I have never even once attempted! Later that day, I came across someone who inspired me in ways that changed my mind-set on contemporary. She had told me that it is not about what others think about you doing it, and it not about how good you think that you are at an extra class. It is simply about doing what you love, and if you love contemporary and want to try it, TRY IT! Live your life, and make the most of every opportunity that you have thrown your way. Don’t be ashamed that you aren’t good at an extra class. If you like it, enjoy it and live every moment dong it like it is your last. Don’t live your life in fear of what others think of you, but instead live your life doing things that you love. Its your life, LIVE IT!!! 🙂 After that conversation, I was quite relieved to hear my instructor tell me that she had faith in me and knew that I would most likely catch up to everyone else in just a few more classes. She had said that she wasn’t worried about me getting behind at all. That made me smile and it gave me even more confidence. I just need to keep working hard and keep a positive attitude and I should be just fine…

2 thoughts on “It’s Your Life, Live It!

  1. Contemporary is all about feeling the music and expressing yourself through the moves the music inspires you to create. You’ve always loved moving to the music and creating your own choreography, this is no different! Close your eyes, feel the music and tell the story through your moves. Don’t worry what others think, let the music inspire you. You just may surprise yourself and others along the way. You have to step out of your comfort zone to expand your abilities. You’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

