Pointe Shoes, and Performances

backstageGiselle

(Photo taken backstage of my Giselle ballet hair and show makeup)

Hey everyone! I just got back from the out-of-state festivals and performances that I attended over the weekend. I had so much fun and I really enjoyed going! When I was there, I created a small journal and wrote entries throughout the day for you guys. I know that this is a very long post, by far one of the longest that I have ever written on this blog, so you don’t have to read the whole thing. I just wrote as much as I could for anyone who wanted to read this whole post. 😉 I hope that you guys enjoy reading about my trip, and I wish you a great week! 🙂

October 10, 8:39AM.

Right now, I am in the car right before our onstage rehearsals start. I had to wake up at 5:50 this morning just to get ready, because we have to be at the theater by 8:45 and ready to dance by 9:15. We have a little over 30 minuets to run our modern piece before the performance this afternoon. We are all a little stressed about the speed of the dance and the wing changes that are going to be almost impossible to make. I am getting very excited and I hope that the rehearsals go well!!!

October 10, 9:30AM.

I am kind of getting a little nervous about the piece now that the rehearsals went so bad… I felt like nobody was together and none of us really made the wing changes in time. At this point, all I can do is just wish that the show is more successful than the rehearsals…. 😦

October 10, 7:00  PM.

The contemporary performance went great this afternoon!  A few of us left one of our dance classes early to perform Rule The World around 1:00 this afternoon! It was perfect and I am so proud of everyone in it! All of my classes for today have ended and we are all headed back to the theater to prepare for another show that starts in an hour. I have limited time to get ready and better hurry! Wish me luck on my modern piece!

October 10, 8:45PM.

I just got offstage and that is by far THE BEST THAT WE HAVE EVER DONE IN THAT DANCE! I felt like we were all together and that we were all at the same pace. Nobody missed a wing change, and it couldn’t have been better. However, there is still that little reminder…. we cant get too excited because there is still more performances tomorrow for Giselle ballet.

October 11, 8:00AM.

Here I am at the theater, extra early today! We have to make sure that we have enough time to rehearse our 8 minuet long piece classical ballet from Giselle. I am pretty confident about this piece and I don’t have that many doubts… I better go warm up and get ready for rehearsals! They start in 30 minuets!

October 11, 12:50PM.

Rehearsals went great this morning, and my classes were so much fun!  In my last variation class, I learned both, the sugar plum fairy and a variation from Raymonda. The teacher was so nice, and he seemed to really like me…I am now on my way to the theater to quickly get ready for the show. We are the opening dance, so we need to move quickly.

October 11, 1:43

We just got finished performing Giselle… It was pretty good, and I am pleased with it. I am literally shocked that all of our performances are complete and all of our classes are now finished for this weekend. I had a wonderful time doing soooooo much dancing all weekend long! Our first class started at 8:45 and our last class, if you didn’t have to leave early, ended at 6:00. I am so relieved that all of the dances went well, and I couldn’t have asked for more. We are going to be on the road as soon as the show is over back to our home-town.

I hope that everyone enjoyed reading my small enteries…. I hope that they didn’t bore you. 😉 Have a great week and I will be posting as soon as I can! Keep Dancing! 🙂

One thought on “Pointe Shoes, and Performances

  1. So glad you had a good time. Sounds like your classes and your performances went very well. I had no doubt they would. Sometimes a bad rehearsal lets you get all the mistakes over with and then the performance is great. So proud of all you have accomplished this year! Your love and dedication for dance very obvious. Love you

Comments are closed.