Care for Yourself!

stretch

My dance instructor was talking to the class a few days ago, and mentioned something that really had us all stop and think. It was a shocking conversation that will forever change me as a dancer… She said,

A lot of you are complaining about hurt feet, hurt muscles, and growing pains, but when I ask you if you have been taking care of yourself, the answer is always a ‘no’! Whether you are injured or not, you all should be coming to class early to stretch, warm up, roll out your legs, and ice your muscles. You should be taking hot Epsom salt baths a few times a week and drinking a lot of water to help your body function properly. The fact is, your muscles may not be causing you problems now, but when you get older, they will! You only get one body, and if you mess it up, there is nothing that you are going to be able to do later. Don’t let it get to the point where you are in pain to roll out, or care for yourself, because by then it is already too late! Avoid injuries happening and take care of yourself EVERY NIGHT, because it is important and is the key to a long, healthy dance career.

As a result of this conversation, I have written down a new schedule that I have started following, so that I can get into a habit of treating my body with the respect it deserves. I hope this post was helpful to you, and I hope that this has helped open your eyes into reality a little bit more (it sure did for me!) This is just an important concept that a lot of dancers don’t really pay attention or give much thought into… Hopefully this helped! Dance safe!  🙂

